Everything’s Wrong AUDIO (Live:Gestation 2, Oct 28, Boo Hewerdine on gtr.)

5 Responses to “Everything’s Wrong AUDIO (Live:Gestation 2, Oct 28, Boo Hewerdine on gtr.)”

  1. Tom Conway Says:

    I had to laugh when I heard the line “how come I had my one and only hit with my very worst song?” C’mon Nick, Arclight’s quite a good song really…;-)

    Seriously though, I find this song a bit too negative – everything’s wrong, woe is me etc. I think it needs a touch of hope. You had a hit with your worst song, but you still had a hit, right? You’re holding on by your fingertips, but you’re still holding on, still hanging in there.

    Maybe try it a lot faster (I’m thinking World Exploding Touch pace!)
    and rather than sing it from the perspective of someone whose world has fallen apart, sing it from the perspective of someone who doesn’t quite understand the world anymore. “Everything’s Wrong” could then refer to the politically correct, can’t-do-anything-in-case-you-offend-someone world the person sees.

  2. gestationproject Says:

    You’re right to laugh, this one isn’t entirely serious – I’m generally much more of a “glass half full” kind of guy, so this is partially me poking fun at self-pity in general, and reminding myself not to succumb. Sadly, I’ve never had a proper hit at all (and the few near misses certainly weren’t my worst songs) so that particular line is purely me projecting . But I do think that most of us (and men in particular) tend to fall victim to the misconception so brilliantly captured in that classic Jewish saying “if you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans”!

  3. Tom Conway Says:

    I had another listen, and I think the problem is that the “poking fun” bit doesn’t come through – it just sounds like someone moaning about their lot. The film critic Barry Norman once said; “the probelm with having your tongue in your cheek is that sometimes people can’t understand what you’re trying to say” I think the plodding, instense rythym doesn’t help, try speeding it up and/or making the tune less percussive.

    A friend of mine who was into the Blues told me that Blues was actually happy music – the point of it being you got your worried of your chest and felt much better for it. Maybe this song needs a touch of Blues spirit.

    Anyway, looking forward to the recordings from Gestation 3 with Sean Millar and Biatch. Have a good ‘un!

  4. gestationproject Says:

    Good Barry Norman quote! I hear you, let’s see where we end up on this one, got various ideas to explore yet. And thanks for the GESTATION 3 wishes, think it’s going to be beautiful.

  5. LifeIsNot4Sale Says:

    Love the G2 arrangment and for me the upbeat nature of that conveys that this isn’t meant to be taken seriously – although I wonder if it could be taken sarcastically which gives it a totally different vibe. The hit with the very worst song line makes me smile as it makes me think of similar things in my own life – just think the song could use one or 2 more of these – but then I am partial to lists in songs (e.g Arclight)!

Leave a Reply

