How to submit images for consideration as album artwork.

The intention is that the artwork for the finished album sleeve will be composed of images submitted by the public inspired by each of the individual songs on the album.  All images will be fully credited; permission will be sought from each image’s creator for usage prior to the artwork being finalised; and each person who does contribute an image which ends up being used on the sleeve will receive some small but special reward (that’s in addition to public glory and my deep gratitude).

If you’d like to contribute an image inspired by one of the new songs uploaded here, upload that image to an external server and leave a link on this blog so that I (and everyone else) can have a look.

The images can of any kind – photography, painting, drawing, digital art, typography – and they can be as LITERAL or LATERAL as you like.

The only requirements are that (a) they’re ORIGINAL (I don’t want to be sued for copyright infringement); (b) they’re suitable for reproduction on a single page of a CD booklet (120mm x 120mm); and (c) they’re beautiful / striking / interesting.

Looking forward to seeing what you come up with…

17 Responses to “How to submit images for consideration as album artwork.”

  1. gestationproject Says:

    DeadBilly Says:
    September 26, 2009 at 6:37 am | Reply
    Here’s a piece of artwork submitted for your project. Hope you like it. http://www.flickr.com/photos/dobson77/3955171488/

  2. DeadBilly Says:

    Seriously? No other takers yet? Oh well, here’s another one for you. I think the concept was better than the finished product on this one – I may continue to try and tweak it a bit. It’s (somewhat obviously) inspired by “45”. Even if the final image isn’t that great, it was great fun destroying a couple of crappy old singles.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/dobson77/4016905011/sizes/o/

  3. gestationproject Says:

    Thanks for that DB, really appreciate the excellent work. Expecting to get more contributions as the series unfolds, if they’re any way up to your standard I’ll be truly blessed.

  4. Banners Says:

    I put a couple of ideas in the comments for “Save Pluto” a little while ago – perhaps I should have put the links here.

    1. Graphic style
    2. Photo style

    Cheers!

  5. gestationproject Says:

    Thanks for that Banners, yes I wasn’t able (for some no doubt very obvious technical idiot reason) to upload them myself – now everyone can share, which is just as it should be. Thanks a mill.

  6. Rob Gartenberg Says:

    Kingfisher blue http://www.flickr.com/photos/44512972@N05/4095266148/?rotated=1&cb=1257936465723

    • gestationproject Says:

      Hi Rob

      Having gone through well over 200 images sent in by a huge array of different artists (both via this site and other contacts), I’ve arrived at a very short shortlist of images for the songs that are definitely going to be on the album.

      I’m really delighted to say that your “Kingfisher Blue” image is on that shortlist, and, assuming you’re agreeable, I would like to ask you to do the following:

      1. Send a high res version of the image to me at info@nickkelly.ie
      2. Confirm in the accompanying email that you agree to allow me to use the image on the album artwork plus for related promotional material (including single releases) in return for a credit on the album artwork and an acknowledgement by me that the copyright in the original image remains yours entirely.
      3. Confirm the exact name under which you want to be credited.

      As I mentioned at the beginning of the process, I’m afraid that I’m unable to pay for any of the images used as I simply don’t have the budget, but I would of course send you a courtesy copy of the album and be happy to put you on the guest list for any show you happen to be within striking distance of in the future.

      Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any questions – and if you are happy to give me permission to use your image, it would be brilliant if you could respond to this message as soon as possible as we are finalising our artwork very shortly.

      Finally, I just want to say a really heartfelt “thank you” to you for being willing to allow me use your amazing image to enhance the artwork of my album.

      Very best

      Nick

  7. gestationproject Says:

    Thanks so much for that Rob, really appreciate the work.

  8. Nige' Ollis Says:

    Everything’s Wrong:
    http://bighugelabs.com/onblack.php?id=3689239679&size=large

    Christmas In The City:
    http://bighugelabs.com/onblack.php?id=4252859609&size=large

    • gestationproject Says:

      Hi Nige

      Having gone through well over 200 images sent in by a huge array of different artists (both via this site and other contacts), I’ve arrived at a very short shortlist of images for the songs that are definitely going to be on the album.

      I’m really delighted to say that your “Everything’s Wrong” image is on that shortlist, and, assuming you’re agreeable, I would like to ask you to do the following:

      1. Send a high res version of the image to me at info@nickkelly.ie
      2. Confirm in the accompanying email that you agree to allow me to use the image on the album artwork plus for related promotional material (including single releases) in return for a credit on the album artwork and an acknowledgement by me that the copyright in the original image remains yours entirely.
      3. Confirm the exact name under which you want to be credited.

      As I mentioned at the beginning of the process, I’m afraid that I’m unable to pay for any of the images used as I simply don’t have the budget, but I would of course send you a courtesy copy of the album and be happy to put you on the guest list for any show you happen to be within striking distance of in the future.

      Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any questions – and if you are happy to give me permission to use your image, it would be brilliant if you could respond to this message as soon as possible as we are finalising our artwork very shortly.

      Finally, I just want to say a really heartfelt “thank you” to you for being willing to allow me use your amazing image to enhance the artwork of my album.

      Very best

      Nick

  9. gestationproject Says:

    Nige – thanks a million for those images, really fantastic. Particularly drawn to the dog, really captures an Eyeore (sp? aa milne sad sack donkey) vibe I think so right for this tune!

  10. Cormac Says:

    Had a browse through to see if anything was at all relevant…

    ARTHUR ASHE
    Beach

    CHRISTMAS IN THE CITY
    Christmas Tree

    KINGFISHER BLUE
    Blur

    SAVE PLUTO
    Young Flower's Break for Freedom

    45
    North Beach Record Shop

    INFRASTRUCTURE
    Mop Fair

  11. gestationproject Says:

    Belated thanks for that Cormac – very nice, particularly like your “Infrastructure” shot.

    • gestationproject Says:

      Hi Cormac

      Having gone through well over 200 images sent in by a huge array of different artists (both via this site and other contacts), I’ve arrived at a very short shortlist of images for the songs that are definitely going to be on the album.

      I’m really delighted to say that your “Infrastructure” image is on that shortlist, and, assuming you’re agreeable, I would like to ask you to do the following:

      1. Send a high res version of the image to me at info@nickkelly.ie
      2. Confirm in the accompanying email that you agree to allow me to use the image on the album artwork plus for related promotional material (including single releases) in return for a credit on the album artwork and an acknowledgement by me that the copyright in the original image remains yours entirely.
      3. Confirm the exact name under which you want to be credited.

      As I mentioned at the beginning of the process, I’m afraid that I’m unable to pay for any of the images used as I simply don’t have the budget, but I would of course send you a courtesy copy of the album and be happy to put you on the guest list for any show you happen to be within striking distance of in the future.

      Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any questions – and if you are happy to give me permission to use your image, it would be brilliant if you could respond to this message as soon as possible as we are finalising our artwork very shortly.

      Finally, I just want to say a really heartfelt “thank you” to you for being willing to allow me use your amazing image to enhance the artwork of my album.

      Very best

      Nick

  12. Michael Says:

    Thought I would create a set of images for you to have a look at and for me to add to…

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/department63/sets/72157623443477169/

    • gestationproject Says:

      Hi Michael

      Having gone through well over 200 images sent in by a huge array of different artists (both via this site and other contacts), I’ve arrived at a very short shortlist of images for the songs that are definitely going to be on the album.

      I’m really delighted to say that both your “45” image is on that shortlist, and, assuming you’re agreeable, I would like to ask you to do the following:

      1. Send a high res version of the image to me at info@nickkelly.ie
      2. Confirm in the accompanying email that you agree to allow me to use the image on the album artwork plus for related promotional material (including single releases) in return for a credit on the album artwork and an acknowledgement by me that the copyright in the original image remains yours entirely.
      3. Confirm the exact name under which you want to be credited.

      As I mentioned at the beginning of the process, I’m afraid that I’m unable to pay for any of the images used as I simply don’t have the budget, but I would of course send you a courtesy copy of the album and be happy to put you on the guest list for any show you happen to be within striking distance of in the future.

      Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any questions – and if you are happy to give me permission to use your image, it would be brilliant if you could respond to this message as soon as possible as we are finalising our artwork very shortly.

      Finally, I just want to say a really heartfelt “thank you” to you for being willing to allow me use your amazing image to enhance the artwork of my album.

      Very best

      Nick

  13. gestationproject Says:

    Fantastic to get those Michael, particularly like “Small Loads” shot, but others very nice too.

Leave a Reply

